an idea

Lately, I am frustrated with questions of success… church success, to be specific. It seems to me that when we pastors talk about our churches and how things are going, we ask about Sunday attendance and a list of programs we run, the events we orchestrate and the dollars we gather and spend.

Before I went to sleep last night, my mind was spinning. I desperately wanted to create a new metric… I need to get a handle on a new way to measure success.

All I can think of is this:
“The kingdom of heaven is like a mustard seed, which a man took and planted in his field. Though it is the smallest of all your seeds, yet when it grows, it is the largest of garden plants and becomes a tree, so that the birds of the air come and perch in its branches… The Kingdom of heaven is like yeast that a woman took and mixed into a large amount of flour until it worked all through the dough.” Matthew 13:31-33

To Jesus, the small is big. The tiniest of things is strong. The speck is valuable.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robert Martin
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 12:16:08

    I’m with you on this, KrisAnne. Success of a congregation, while it can manifest in number of ministries and butts in the pews, is not necessarily the same. A successful congregation should be measured against the standard of the Kingdom of Heaven.

    We may not convert the world to our faith and “religion”, but can we be like yeast in that the world learns from us, sees Christ in us, and then comes along side of us to act in a Kingdom fashion in the world? Would that be a better measure of success?

    For me, my passion in the church is discipleship, people seeking what it means to live out life by Kingdom standards in a world that does not adopt those standards. For me, success is seeing people’s lives change and, in the process, seeing other people’s lives change. This can be done with a small congregation or a large one, through many programs or one REALLY well-run one.

    I’ve been thinking this kinda stuff for a while now but, as I’m reading for my Organizations and Change class at Biblical, it’s starting to gel in my head.

    Keep thinking these thoughts! It’s a journey…

    Reply

  2. slots pharaoh's way
    Jul 18, 2014 @ 00:28:31

    ” I’m just lucky enough, at least, never to have had the money–or the racism. I Peter 3:18-22 is perhaps the most notorious of all such “hard sayings,” although it necessarily means no more than that the same Christ, who was literally, unequivocally dead, for three days and three nights, in the heart of the earth, had formerly preached, to the spirits in prison (the bondage of their sin, while they yet “lived”), through His Divine Spirit in Noah. But, then, if six long years of such, even at the university, followed by the related drowning, of my Natalie Wood, from Splendor in the Grass, had not decisively broken me down, I’ve therefore already long proved myself to be among the safest prospects of all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

